Jackson DUI Attorney
Defending DUI Cases in Madison County and Throughout Tennessee
Are you wondering how you can beat a DUI? Our Jackson DUI lawyer can analyze your case and help you develop a strategic and effective way of fighting against your charges.
The legal team at the Law Offices of Marcus A. Lipham employs a variety of tactics when trying to get DUI charges dropped. Depending on the circumstances of your case, we might seek to prove the unreliability of a field sobriety test or try to demonstrate how your blood was improperly drawn. Whatever your specific situation, we have the knowledge and skills to make the law work for you, rather than against you.
Legal Alcohol Limit in TN
In Tennessee, driving under the influence occurs when someone’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level is .08% or higher while driving. The two exceptions include:
- Drivers of commercial vehicles have a legal BAC limit of .04%
- Drivers under the age of 21 will be charged with DUI for any trace of alcohol
Year after year, drunk driving is the number one killer on Tennessee roads. This type of crime is taken very seriously by law enforcement and courts, and often offenders are prosecuted to the fullest extent of the law. You need a Jackson DUI lawyer who can fight to protect your rights and help you get the best possible outcome for your situation.
Tennessee DUI Penalties
First Offense DWI
In Tennessee, the mandatory jail sentence for all first-time DUI offenders is 48 hours. If a person’s BAC was .20 percent or higher, then the minimum jail sentence is seven days. Maximum penalties for a first-time DUI include 11 months and 29 days in jail, a $350 to $1,500 fine, and a one-year license revocation. A first-offense DUI is considered a misdemeanor.
Second Offense DWI
Subsequent DUI convictions result in more severe penalties. For instance, second-time offenders face a minimum of 45 days confinement and will also be fined between $600 and $3,500. Also, the license suspension period is increased to 2 years, and a judge may order the individual to participate in an alcohol treatment program for up to 28 days.
Third Offense DWI
The penalties for a third offense DWI in Tennessee include 120 days up to 11 months and 29 days in jail as well as fines ranging between $1,100 and $10,000. The driver's license suspension period is increased to 6 years. The installment of an ignition interlock device is required. Forfeiture of your vehicle may also occur based on the judge's orders.
Field Sobriety Tests
The Standardized Field Sobriety Test (SFST) is made of up 3 individual tests:
- Horizontal Gaze Nystagmus (HGN) test,
- Walk-and-turn test,
- and the One-leg stand test
The officer uses these tests to determine if you have been operating your vehicle are under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Some of the signs they look for are slurred speech, loss of balance or not following the instructions.
DUI Expungements in Tennessee
If you were convicted of a DUI in the past, you’ve probably asked the question, “Can I get a DUI expunged from my record in Tennessee?” Unfortunately, there’s no short answer; every case is different. One factor that determines your eligibility is when the conviction occurred. If the alleged DUI offence occurred before November 1st 1989, for instance, your record may not be eligible for expunction.
DUI Expungement Evaluations
To learn more about your eligibility for an expungement, contact the Law Offices of Marcus A. Lipham at (731) 207-4488 or fill out an online form and ask about our expungement evaluation services. With a few simple steps, we can evaluate your case and determine whether an expunction is possible for you.
How do I find a good DUI lawyer?
If you’ve been arrested for or charged with a DUI crime in Madison County, you’ll need an aggressive legal defense on your side. Finding the right lawyer can seem overwhelming, though. Here are a few factors to consider when choosing your advocate:
- Their Experience – It goes without saying that legal experience is important. Working with an attorney who has handled cases like yours in the past may help you stand a better chance of a favorable outcome.
- Their Approach – Good lawyers take the time to get to know their clients and keep them apprised of their case progress from start to finish. Look for an attorney who truly cares about the outcome of your case, your future, and your well-being as a client.
- Their Qualifications – Legal experience isn’t everything when it comes to fighting DUI charges (although it’s important, too). Work with a lawyer who has more to offer than just years in the criminal defense field. Marcus A. Lipham, for instance, is a military veteran and former police officer.
At the end of the day, the best way to find the right attorney is by scheduling an evaluation of your case to discuss your legal rights and options. To speak with the team at The Law Offices of Marcus A. Lipham, call now or fill out an online contact form to request your case evaluation.
We Can Help You Fight Your Charges
Your first step to getting your charges dismissed or dropped is having your case evaluated by our Jackson DUI attorney. At the Law Offices of Marcus A. Lipham, we offer years of experience and depth of knowledge to help you protect your rights and driving privileges and serve clients throughout Madison County, TN.
20 Years of Criminal Justice Experience
US Army Veteran
Former Police Officer