JACKSON DOMESTIC VIOLENCE ATTORNEY
Tennessee Domestic Violence Laws
A domestic assault arrest can have life-long implications. It is crucial to have an experienced Jackson domestic violence attorney on your side who can evaluate every aspect of your case. Sometimes, law enforcement officials make mistakes. Our goal is to find and expose those mistakes.
If your rights have been violated during an arrest, or the allegations against you have been exaggerated or are simply untrue, the Law Offices of Marcus A. Lipham can help. Our Jackson domestic violence lawyer can gather the evidence needed to expose how you have been wronged.
What is Domestic Violence?
The phrase domestic violence is used in many states to categorize abuse cases where the suspect and the victim are related. This includes current or former family members or romantic partners.
In Tennessee, the crime of domestic violence is referred to as domestic assault. There are two categories of assault: simple assault and aggravated assault.
- Simple assault consists of causing bodily injury to someone, causing a person to fear bodily injury, or causing physical contact that is viewed as provocative or offensive.
- Domestic Assault becomes “aggravated” if the crime is committed using or displaying a deadly weapon, through strangulation, or while under an order or probation agreement forbidding such actions. It can also become aggravated if the bodily injury involved significant harm such as an injury that needs significant medical treatment.
What are the Penalties for Domestic Violence?
Domestic assault is charged and penalized in four main ways, including:
- Class A misdemeanor (simple assault) – up to 11 months and 29 days in jail and/or a fine of up to $2,500
- Class B misdemeanor (simple assault) – a maximum jail sentence of 6 months and/or a fine of up to $500
- Class C felony (aggravated assault) – 3 to 15 years in prison and a maximum fine of $10,000
- Class D felony (aggravated assault) – a jail sentence from 2 to 12 years and a fine of up to $5,000
The above penalties are subject to increase with subsequent offenses. Additional consequences for a domestic violence conviction include a permanent criminal record, loss of the right to vote, and difficulty finding employment or applying for housing.
Can Domestic Assault Charges be Dropped in Tennessee?
The alleged victim of a domestic assault crime in Tennessee does not have the power to drop the charges against you, even if they ask. Charges are brought and can only be dropped by the District Attorney's Office. Most prosecutors will not drop charges at the request of the alleged victim, which is why it’s important to build a strong legal defense if you’ve been arrested or charged with a domestic violence crime in Madison County.
Let the Battle Begin
If you have been accused of domestic violence, it is time to obtain quality representation. Our Jackson domestic violence attorney is equipped with the necessary knowledge and skills to go to battle to protect your rights and freedom.
Contact the Law Offices of Marcus A. Lipham today at (731) 207-4488 to put our years of experience to work for you with our Jackson domestic violence lawyer.
20 Years of Criminal Justice Experience
US Army Veteran
Former Police Officer